Another 2010 venture I’ve devoted myself to is my 365 photo project. Everyday I take a photo of something, anything, (everything?). My theme features a different color every month – ie: January was white (above), February is orange, March could be green, maybe metallic or blue… I haven’t decided yet but you get the idea. It’s these types of projects that keep my creative thoughts flowing and also strengthen my design work. This exercise in particular has made me much more observant of my surroundings and I’m finding I brainstorm photo ideas wherever I go. I approach photography the same way I’d sketch out a design layout. I look for interesting patterns, contrasting light and dark areas, different typography, balancing angles, opposing textures, etc. Then I select subjects that intrigue me the most.

